Backyard Update – Part 1

After a year in my new house, I am finally starting to update my backyard into something useable.  The builder, in typical builder style, just threw down some St. Augustine sod on their way to the final punch list.  That was fine, at least there was something out back.

My house is a 3-story single family home with a very small back yard – about 25’ wide by 18’ deep.  Enough for a small dog or patio or pergola, but nowhere near the backyard that most of the houses around me have.  It’s perfect for me, less to keep up so I’m happy.  Now it just needs to be usable.

Here is the starting point, pretty plain backyard with my A/C unit and small concrete pad off of my back door.

Backyard before any work started

Backyard before any work started

Another view of my backyard before any work started

Another view of my backyard before any work started

I’ve thought about a few different options include a wooden deck, concrete slab with tile, or concrete pavers and all of these with or without a pergola.  What about trees?  What about plants?  What about planter boxes? Edging options? Water features? Fire pits?  The blank canvas is overwhelming, so many options!

I finally decided to start with a paver patio.  My neighbor had a patio installed by Pablo of PR Construction in Houston, TX.  I really liked it and it fit our small back yards perfectly.  I got the recommendation and Pablo came and helped my plan my back patio.

I was originally thinking of something quite plain and straightforward – a rectangle of travertine.  After Pablo’s consultation, he convinced me to consider one of the multi-colored paver varieties in gray with a dark gray border.  We decided on a herringbone pattern for the main body with a soldier edge in dark gray.  Pablo was nice enough to drop off some samples while I was out of town so I could make sure everything matched my house paint color.  After I saw the pavers in person, I knew Pablo was right.  He started the installation, and…

My patio after PR Construction built a beautiful gray herringbone paver patio.

My patio after PR Construction (Houston, TX) built a beautiful gray herringbone paver patio.

I couldn’t be happier!!  Pablo installed everything in a day and a half and was professional, tidy, and helpful.    He answered any questions I had and recommended maintenance.  I couldn’t recommend him any more highly.  My neighbor has recently had Pablo come back for more work on his side yard.  Pablo is the unofficial paver of the neighborhood.

I know most of you may not be in the Houston area, but if you are I can’t recommend Pablo highly enough!

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

