Michael Miller Fabrics Miniquilt

The Modern Quilt Guild recently had a Michael Miller Challenge in which all members who wanted to participate were given fabric samples (fat eights) of Michael Miller’s new Petal Pinwheels fabric line.  I decided to make a mini quilt for a friend who I thought would like the colors in this cheerful fabric.

I also wanted to practice foundation paper piecing (FPP) so I chose PennyLane by 627Handworks that I linked from Wombat Quilts.  It was a cute design with enough pieces that I could represent most of the fabrics.

Front of Michael Miller Challenge Mini Quilt

Front of Michael Miller Challenge Mini Quilt

Back of Michael Miller Challenge Mini Quilt

Back of Michael Miller Challenge Mini Quilt

Overall,  I think it turned out pretty good, but I would change a few things next time:

– The fabric designs were too large a scale for these small pattern pieces.  This pattern is lovely and may look better with solids, low volume, and blenders with larger scale pattern fabrics.
– I don’t love the pebble quilting I did in two of the quadrants of the main medallion.  I like to practice my pebbling, but it turned out too busy on top of the main elements. The pebbling on the solid coral looks much better and is a better example of how pebbling can highlight low volume or solid fabrics.
– I tried my hand at 1/4″ binding for the first time.  I hand sewed the back, but ended up with dog ears on most of my corners.  I need a bit more practice.

I want to give a big thank you to Michael Miller Fabrics and the MQG for this challenge!

-Stephanie, HoustonDIY

One thought on “Michael Miller Fabrics Miniquilt

  1. It is really, really nice. These fabrics are so nice and I disagree about the quilting. It really highlights the design and draws the eye, which I think makes the larger scale prints lose the possible dominance you mentioned. It is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

