Rainbow Bright Pillow Covers

The Houston Modern Quilt Guild, which I am a proud member of, has regular swaps at our monthly meetings. In March of last year we exchanged small items with a closure and I made a yellow and black ID wallet. In April of last year, we exchanged pillow covers. The only rules were that it needed to be 16″ x 16″, 18″ x 18″, or 20″ x 20″ to fit a standard pillow form and be modern fabrics/designs.

I wanted to make something colorful so I made up a drew up a pattern after thinking about easy to assemble rectangles and giving them a modern, slightly wonky feel. I decided on a 20″ x 20″ pillow and drew out a design on graph paper.

Sketch of my design

Sketch of my design

Since I’m trying to practice free motion quilting (and quilting in general), I cut out pieces enough for 4 pillows. I use two different shades of gray for the background with the same set of 20 bright fabrics from my stash. This would be a great project to use up scraps since the cut pieces range from 1.5″ to 6.5″ x 2.5″.

After piecing all four pillows, I tried a few different techniques for the quilting – 1/4″ spaced parallel lines (pillow A), modified chevron with straight lines (pillow B), and pebbles filling in the background grays (pillows C and D). I assembled them all in the same way using a bright color zipper and scraps to cover the zipper. I followed a tutorial I found on Pinterst for a covered zipper on the backs.

Completed rainbow bright pillows with varying quilting techniques

Completed rainbow bright pillows with varying quilting techniques

I decided to keep pillows C and D for myself as a matching set, gave pillow A to the guild swap (hopefully Tammy likes it), and gifted the other to a friend. All in all, it was a fun project that was a good opportunity to be creative by designing a block, practice my quilting techniques, and practice my zipper insertion techniques.

-Stephanie, HoustonDIY

One thought on “Rainbow Bright Pillow Covers

Leave a Reply

